CB: Tales Of The Jedi: The Freedon Nadd Uprising #1-2

tales of the jedi: the freedon nadd uprising

It was hard to get a handle on the uprising, what with all the narration!

Cover Art By: Dave Dorman
Art By: Tony Akins
Written By: Tom Veitch

“The light is our strength and our ally. With the light of the Force the Jedi will stand forever… remember Ulic… where there is light… there can be no darkness.” – Jedi Master Arca Jeth

It gives me pleasure that even in the days of the Old Republic Era the Jedi Order was full of itself and completely blind to the vastness of the Force. The Sith draw less of my ire because they appear to be more open to how complex the Force has always been. And no, this isn’t just my insane ramblings, I think it’s been made plainly obvious time and again that the Force is a tough nut to crack and that the Jedi with their black and white view have been consistently in the wrong. Tales Of The Jedi: The Freedon Nadd Uprising doesn’t explore the Force, or the Jedi, in any great detail except for in its last few panels. It’s safe to say that I enjoyed those panels more than the rest of the comic put together.

My issues with the rest of the comic reside in the plodding nature of the story, and how in the end none of it feels like it matters much. These two issues kept me at a distance from Tales Of The Jedi: The Freedon Nadd Uprising, and ultimately that made the story less then enjoyable. I wanted to enjoy what I was reading, Odin knows I enjoy the era, but I couldn’t get into the story no matter how hard I tried.

Again, and I know I sound like a broken record here, but the narration in Tales Of The Jedi: The Freedon Nadd Uprising is overbearing. It’s used far too much, and it removes the need for action. Why draw what is happening in a panel when I can count on a narration box to spell it all out for me? I’m not a fan, and never have been, of the type of narration employed in Tales Of The Jedi: The Freedon Nadd Uprising. For me it comes across as information overload, and it makes the characters seem far too wooden and robotic. They aren’t in action so much as they are stagnant while a narration box tells me every little detail about their lives and what is currently happening to them. That’s no fun, and it makes for a very tough reading experience.

Tales Of The Jedi: The Freedon Nadd Uprising doesn’t feel like it matters, but I didn’t need for it to matter. Unfortunately, Tom Veitch wants his story to matter so he makes it a “the galaxy is at stake” type of story. That doesn’t work because frankly there’s nothing that is in any of the panels in Tales Of The Jedi: The Freedon Nadd Uprising that mattered as I was reading it. Mr. Veitch’s story is all set-up, and while I look forward to where the story will go he tried to place unneeded importance on Tales Of The Jedi: The Freedon Nadd Uprising and that really hurt my enjoyment of the story.

I’m looking forward to where the Tales Of The Jedi series will go, but yet again I was let down by an entry in said series. The characters being introduced are diverse and very cool. But, the stories, and the art, continue to be lacking and not able to support the characters being introduced. Tales Of The Jedi is a series with so much promise, and yet it continues to be less than it should be. Tales Of The Jedi: The Freedon Nadd Uprising was a letdown, and all I can do is continue to hope that at some point the storytelling and the art will improve to match the promise of the series.

Rating:

D

Cheers,
Bill

Leave a Reply

