CB: Jedi: Mace Windu

jedi: mace windu

Oh Mace Windu, you are your incorrect ideas of what the Jedi stand for!

Cover Art By: Jane Duursema
Art By: Jan Duursema
Written By: John Ostrander

“Whatever your choice, we on the council will honor it so long as it does not lead you to the Dark Side. There can be no schism if we keep our hearts and minds open to one another. We are all one in the Force.” – Jedi Master Mace Windu

I can’t fault Jedi: Mace Windu for the words that Mace Windu speaks in the above quote. That is something Mace would say, and that’s why it is good writing. I’m not sure if John Ostrander, or most of the people who write for Star Wars, realize how the words they put in the mouths of various Jedi feed into the anti-Jedi sentiment that some of us harbor. But, regardless of intent I’m happy that Mace says such things because it just further proves how full of themselves the Jedi are. On that level I can get enjoyment out of stories involving the Jedi, even if I do completely despise their hypocrisy, arrogance, and close minded nature.

However, where does that leave Jedi: Mace Windu as a comic book? Truth be told Jedi: Mace Windu is a bit of a mixed bag. The story does fall too often into the bad habit of being battle happy. For instance there’s a sparring session between Mace and Quinlan Vos that does not need to exist. There is no logical reason for that scene to take place. Sure, in my mind I can justify it as another instance of how off in their own unrealistic world the Jedi are. But, when I think about it more I realize that the scene is simply there to have an action scene to hide a lot of exposition. But, the exposition was just fine and the action scene didn’t need to be there. A lot of Jedi: Mace Windu is like that, things happen that don’t really need to happen.

I was also disappointed in the art from Jan Duursema. There were moments when it was what I have come to expect from Miss Durseema, and that is finely detailed art. However, there were a bevy of pages where the art didn’t have the fine edge that usually accompanies Miss Durseema’s work. A lot of the art took on a blob feel to it, and came across as rushed. I’m not sure the reason for the uneven art, but from what I have seen from Miss Duursema so far I’m willing to chalk up Jedi: Mace Windu as an aberration as opposed to some sort of downward trend.

All of the above being said I liked the variety of characters found in Jedi: Mace Windu. I was interested in the way that Mr. Ostrander explored the fractional nature of the Jedi Order and how it was an inevitable turn of events. All in all I enjoyed some of Jedi: Mace Windu and didn’t enjoy some other elements. Like I said previously, Jedi: Mace Windu is a mixed bag. A completest of the work of Mr. Ostrander and Miss Duursema will want to seek out Jedi: Mace Windu, but for the average Star Wars fan there’s no need to rush out for this comic book.

Rating:

C

Cheers,
Bill

Leave a Reply

