CB: Rebellion #1-5 (My Brother, My Enemy)

More like my brother, my overbearing narration, am I right, am I right?

Cover Art By: Brandon Badeaux
Art By: Brandon Badeaux
Written By: Rob Williams

“We are all so very pleased to have you here among us, where you belong.” – Leia Organa

The more that I think about My Brother, My Enemy the less I think of this story arc of Rebellion. I had many problems with My Brother, My Enemy, problems that were persistent and dampened my enthusiasm for the story at every turn. To tell the truth I don’t have the energy or the desire to thrash My Brother, My Enemy, and in further truth it probably isn’t worthy of such a thrashing. But, I struggled to get into My Brother, My Enemy, and I was happy when the arc had finished but dreading what Rebellion had in store in the future.

About the only true positive I took from My Brother, My Enemy was the artwork of Brandon Badeaux. Unfortunately my follow up sentence is that while I enjoyed Mr. Badeaux’s art it really wasn’t much to write home about. His art worked, it was clean and conveyed more than enough of the story of My Brother, My Enemy all by itself. But, the art in My Brother, My Enemy didn’t set me on my ass or light the world on fire. It was adequate and it was pleasing to my eye, and that’s why it is the one true positive that My Brother, My Enemy brought to the table.

The rest of My Brother, My Enemy is instantly forgettable. The characters ring hollow and false. The setting doesn’t really feel like Star Wars, rather it comes across as a lot of Star Wars like ideas being thrown against the wall. Most of all the reason I failed to connect with My Brother, My Enemy was because of the writing style of Rob Williams. I do not like overbearing narration, and My Brother, My Enemy was full of overbearing narration. It came to a point, about seven pages in when I wanted the inner monologues to leave the damn page so that the art could tell the story like it was trying to. But, the narration never went away, it dominated My Brother, My Enemy in the worst possible way.

I’m not sure if My Brother, My Enemy had the potential to be a good story to begin with. It’s fate was sealed by the oppressive inner monologues, and I jumped off the boat completely when I realized My Brother, My Enemy was not a story that mattered in the strictest sense of the word. My Brother, My Enemy is a comic arc I am happy to be done with, but I’ll tell you what, I am not looking forward toe rest of Rebellion, no siree Bob!

Rating:

D

Cheers,
Bill

Leave a Reply

