YRN: Classic Star Wars: Luke’s Fate

Do all whiny boys get fates similar to Luke’s?

Cover Art By: Isidre Mones
Art By: Isidre Mones
Written By: Jim Thomas

“I’ll go with you,” Luke said. “I want to become a Jedi, like my father before me.” – Luke Skywalker

Luke’s Fate is an interesting story simply for where it leaves off. Instead of actually providing Luke’s fate this young reader’s novel, or picture book to be more precise, leaves what happens to Luke up in the air. In a book intended for second and third graders I can understand this choice. An ambiguous point in Luke’s story from the films was chosen as a stopping point and it works for the type of book that Luke’s Fate is.

The other interesting aspect of Luke’s Fate were the first few pages dealing with Luke’s friends, or rivals, on Tatooine. I realize that these passages are derived from the original script for Episode IV: A New Hope. That being the case I haven’t, up until this point at least, been exposed to those characters or that time in Luke’s life in any of the Star Wars expanded universe that I have read. Seeing Luke display a love for danger, and some other very non-Jedi characteristics made Luke’s Fate an interesting read in the least.

Another element of Luke’s Fate that appealed to me were the illustrations. They aren’t the best or anything like that, but the illustrations provided by Isidre Mones do a good job of conveying the story in a visual sense. In a book that is intended to help kids learn to read I can’t help but think that good illustrations are a must. Like I said, they aren’t setting the world on fire, but Mr. Mones’ art helps to sell the story and I appreciated that.

Luke’s Fate is the book that it wants to be. It will help youngsters to learn to read while providing a decent Star Wars tale in the process. I may not have found anything to love about Luke’s Fate, but in the end this is not a book intended for my consumption. But consume it I did, and the consumption wasn’t terrible. Luke’s Fate was an easy five minutes of my life, and I know that this is the type of book that I’d be more than happy to give my six year old daughter as she progresses in her reading skills.

Rating:

C

Cheers,
Bill

Leave a Reply

