SS: Lost Tribe Of The Sith: Skyborn

Not to reuse a phrase, but something may have happened in this story, but I’m not sure!

Written By: John Jackson Miller

Before I get into the review proper, I would like to sort of apologize for my extended absence from the blog. I do very much like this blog and I still love the world of Star Wars, but when I started this blog I let it be well known that there would be times when it would be updated frequently and instances when varying chunks of time would pass in between updates. So while I am sorry for the long time in between new reviews, I’m not all that sorry because life does get in the way and when it does this blog will suffer, that’s just the way it is. With that being said I do have a new review to get to, so let’s get this baby rolling!

A continuation of Lost Tribe Of The Sith: Precipice, the story in Lost Tribe Of The Sith: Skyborn never quite gets off the ground or goes anywhere interesting. There will be more entries in the Lost Tribe Of The Sith series to follow and it is obvious in the writing and in the content of the short story that this entry in the series is a placeholder. Lost Tribe Of The Sith: Skyborn exists to move the story from book one to book three and when viewed on its own isn’t all that important, or appears to not be at this time, nor is it an interesting story. I know the Sith are there, they will obviously clash with the local culture/manipulate them in some way and because of this I found the majority of Lost Tribe Of The Sith: Skyborn a bit of a slog to get through.

As much of a fan as I am of John Jackson Miller, Lost Tribe Of The Sith: Skyborn was extremely unappealing and pedestrian to me. It’s not a bad short story in any way, but it is a short story that simply exists. Much like the character of Nink, Lost Tribe Of The Sith: Skyborn just sits in the backyard, content to be what it is and not interested in any way in grabbing the reader and making them care about the contents of its story. There isn’t much more for me to say about Lost Tribe Of The Sith: Skyborn, I was hoping that by picking a Jackson Miller story for my return to the blog that I would have a lot to write about. Unfortunately, Lost Tribe Of The Sith: Skyborn leaves me with little to say except what I’ve stated a few times, it’s an unappealing story that isn’t all that interesting but it serves its purpose as a bridge story in the Lost Tribe Of The Sith series in respectable fashion.

Rating:

C-

Cheers,
Bill

Leave a Reply

