CB: Tales Of The Jedi: Knights Of The Old Republic #1-2 (Ulic Qel-Droma And The Beast Wars Of Onderon)

Tojkotor1cover

At some point these Tales Of The Jedi stories have to start being worth my time, right?

Cover Art By: Dave Dorman
Art By: Mike Barreiro, Chris Gossett, Pamela Rambo & Willie Schubert
Written By: Tom Veitch

I keep on hoping that the Tales Of The Jedi series will improve. With each passing entry in the series my hopes are dashed and I am left with a bad taste in my mouth, oh boy could a certain message board have a field day with that line! The reason the Tales Of The Jedi series continually irks me is its inability to learn from its mistakes. Each entry has the same problems as those that came before, and it is maddening to read such a stagnant work. Tales Of The Jedi: Knights Of The Old Republic gave me new hope however. A new lead writer and a different format of two shorter arcs within the series proper. Maybe, just maybe this departure from the status quo could mean some enjoyment for me in my reading.

Alas, the change in format nor the change in writer made any difference. All the change in format meant was a more condensed story while the change in writer meant nothing as Tom Veitch appears to have taken his style of prose directly from Kevin J. Anderson. Ulic Qel-Droma And The Beast Wars Of Onderon is told in the same exposition laden style as the rest of the Tales Of The Jedi series. The story doesn’t flow naturally from scene to scene, but rather feels like one long declaration of facts. There isn’t a single improvement to be found in Ulic Qel-Droma And The Beast Wars Of Onderon and that is upsetting.

The story itself is far too broad, full of characters that don’t have any weight to them. Whether it is Queen Amanoa or Ulic Qel-Droma, each and every character is a cardboard cut out. They aren’t real, they exist only in the framework of the declarative statements they are constantly making. To say that Ulic Qel-Droma And The Beast Wars Of Onderon is bereft of characterization would be an understatement, but I don’t have it in me to truly rip this series apart anymore.

It’s no secret that I am not a fan of the Jedi, however I am more than willing to call bollocks when I see bollocks as far as the treatment of the Jedi is concerned. Ulic Qel-Droma And The Beast Wars Of Onderon paints a picture of an incompetent Jedi Order, of Knights that are easily manipulated and lack any knowledge of the Force whatsoever. The Master in Ulic Qel-Droma And The Beast Wars Of Onderon, Arca Jeth, isn’t much better, he’s written as a condescending dope in the moment when he is supposed to seem most worldly. The lack of knowledge of his Knights and his own assumptions about their knowledge of battle meditation, among other tidbits, boil down to bollocks writing on the part of Veitch and not some failing of the Jedi Order.

I still have a few arcs in the Tales Of The Jedi series to go, but I can’t say I am looking forward to them. I’ll continue to hope for their improvement, but I no longer feel any desire to move to the next chapter in this particular saga. Ulic Qel-Droma And The Beast Wars Of Onderon is yet another in a line of disappointing stories in the Tales Of The Jedi series. It’s yet another story from that series of comics not worth your time. Ulic Qel-Droma And The Beast Wars Of Onderon can’t be avoided because of how it shapes what will come later, but I’m sorry for anyone else who ends up reading it.

Rating:

D-

Cheers,
Bill

Leave a Reply

