CB: Knights Of The Old Republic #7-8, 10 (Flashpoint)

Flashpoint_1

I’m not sure, but I think that Alek fellow may be important at some point in the future!

Covert Art By: Brian Ching
Art By: Michael Atiyeh, Michael Heisler & Dustin Weaver
Written By: John Jackson Miller

I find myself at a loss as to how to begin my review of Flashpoint. I often find this to be the case when trying to put my thoughts on something I found great into words. If you recall at the end of the first Knights Of The Old Republic story arc, Commencement I was quiet enamored with the story but disappointed in a change of artists as well as the resolution to the arc. Flashpoint suffers from neither of those problems and continues all the elements from Commencement that I was fond of.

Something you will hear me harp on quite often in my Knights Of The Old Republic reviews is the humor. Flashpoint is no different, I found myself laughing a lot during all three issues. I love the banter between the entire crew, Gryph and Zayne especially. I happen to be a big fan of dry wit and Flashpoint delivers that in spades. We will return to this topic in later reviews, but trust me, when it wants to be humorous Flashpoint is very, very funny.

The first thing that jumped out was the seamless transition from Brian Ching to Dustin Weaver in the penciling department. I really liked Ching’s style, and while Weaver has a style all his own you can tell that he has attempted to emulate the templates put forth by Ching as closely as possible. The art is clean and unfettered, and when Weaver illustrates a full page splash image I can’t help but stare at the art for as long as possible marveling at the detail.

There is depth to be found in Flashpoint, in any number of areas. One of the little ideas being put forth is of Zayne’s powers as a Jedi being put on display in nonchalant fashion, almost as window dressing. This allows the reader to keep the fact that he is a Jedi in their minds at all times. Then you have the introduction of Rohlan Dyre and the rest of the Mandalorians. Rohlan adds a lot of depth to the Mandalorians while the rest we are introduced to visualize the Mandalorians as a realistic threat.

Above all else Flashpoint takes the time to question the events transpiring within its pages. Why are the Mandalorians attacking now? Why is the Republic not acting and then reacting? What are the Jedi doing throughout all this? Flashpoint questions the longer reaching story lines of Knights Of The Old Republic, but it does so to pique the interest of the reader and my interest was most definitely piqued.

When someone asks me what perfection in Star Wars is I have no qualms pointing to Flashpoint as an example of perfection. It ties into the Knights Of The Old Republic video games while at the same time pushing it’s own story lines forward. There tremendous foreshadowing afoot, as well as perfection personified, Star Wars doesn’t get any better than Flashpoint.

Rating:

P

Cheers,
Bill

Leave a Reply

