CB: Tales #1 (Mara Jade: A Night On The Town)

Barkale

My idea of a night on the town and Mara’s idea of a night on the town don’t exactly mesh!

Cover Art By: Tsuneo Sanda
Art By: Igor Kordey, Vickie Williams & Keith Wood
Written By: Timothy Zahn

I find myself at a loss when it comes to Mara Jade: A Night On The Town. It’s a bit perplexing for certain reasons, but on the whole it’s a rather unremarkable tale that leaves me with very little to say. Perhaps that is the worst I can lobby at Mara Jade: A Night On The Town, it failed to make any sort of mark on me. It’s no great shakes art wise, but it’s not a book to rail against in regards to its art. The story is decent enough, but not all that interesting and a bit too by the numbers. See what I mean, Mara Jade: A Night On The Town is a tale that leaves me with very little to say.

One thing I will say about Mara Jade: A Night On The Town is that it has provided evidence that Timothy Zahn may belong in the same category as Joss Whedon or J. Michael Straczynski. I happen to love the work that both of those men have done in other fields, but I have been utterly let down by all of their comic book endeavors. The reason for this is simple, neither man understands the power and purpose that visuals hold in comics. Just like those two individuals Zahn puts far too much inner dialogue and thought bubbles in this short story. The story feels cluttered and bogged down in minutiae and that is because he isn’t willing to let the visuals tell the story. Maybe, unlike Whedon and Straczynski, Zahn will improve and this is only one bad example, but time will tell.

The short and skinny on Mara Jade: A Night On The Town is apathy. It’s not a bad story, but it’s not a terribly interesting one either. Mara Jade: A Night On The Town is the very definition of a story that you can stumble across and enjoy for what it is, but it’s not a story that you need to seek out in any way. I’m sure that many of the Zahn fanatics that populate the Star Wars fan base will disagree with me, but this is one Zahn tale that can easily be skipped.

Rating:

C-

Cheers,
Bill

Leave a Reply

